Classical For Kansas City
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Symphonic Theatrics: Love, Hope and Heroics

Martha Swope.
New York Public Library.
'Appalachian Spring,' which Copland rearranged as an orchestral suite in 1945, began a year prior as a chamber work for ballet commissioned by dancer and choreographer Martha Graham.

Presenting in three different costumes, this episode features an extraordinary series of storytelling with selected works by Richard Strauss, Aaron Copland and Gustav Mahler.


Michael Stern, Conductor
Dan Margolies

Featured Guests

Kristin Velicer, Acting Associate Principal Second Violin


Suite from Der Rosenkavalier, Richard Strauss

Suite from Appalachian Spring, Aaron Copland

Symphony No. 1, Gustav Mahler

Dan Margolies is senior reporter and editor at KCUR. He can be reached by email at or on Twitter @DanMargolies.
Sam Wisman is Assistant Producer at 91.9 Classical KC.
Leah Sosland is an intern for 91.9 Classical KC.