Classical For Kansas City
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Unfinished Requiems and Cosmic Speculation

Garden of Cosmic Speculation
Jane Barlow
The Garden of Cosmic Speculation - Scotland

This week, we'll hear "incomplete" masterpieces and a living, breathing modern work: Schubert's "Unfinished" Symphony, Mozart's Requiem and excerpts from Michael Gandolfi's musical trek through "The Garden of Cosmic Speculation."

Michael Stern
Dan Margolies


The Garden of Cosmic Speculation (excerpts)
by Michael Gandolfi

Soliton Waves (from Part I)
Symmetry Break Terrace/Black Hole Terrace (from Part I)
The Willow Twist (from Part I)
The Nonsense (from Part III)
Live performance, January 2017

Symphony No. 7 in B Minor “Unfinished" (old No. 8)
by Franz Schubert
Live performance, February 2017

Requiem, K. 626
by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Completed by Robert D. Levin
Live performance, October 2016

Joélle Harvey, soprano
Aleksandra Romano, mezzo soprano
Andrew Stenson, tenor
Wei Wu, bass
The Kansas City Symphony Chorus
prepared by Charles Bruffy, Director

Dan Margolies is senior reporter and editor at KCUR. He can be reached by email at or on Twitter @DanMargolies.
Sam Wisman is Assistant Producer at 91.9 Classical KC.