Classical For Kansas City
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Surprise Symphonies

Image for FTA 49 webpage.jpg

We have two very different symphonies this week: an Italian gem from 1800 by cello prodigy Luigi Boccherini and a powerful 21st century portrait by American composer Jonathan Leshnoff of the chaos and homesickness of American soldiers in World War I. Leshnoff’s Symphony No. 3 incorporates texts from solders’ letters to tell the story of the great war’s impact on their lives.

Compositions and Recordings

Procession of the Nobles by Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov
Erich Kunzel and The Cincinnati Pops Orchestra

Symphony No. 3
by Jonathan Leshnoff
Michael Stern and The Kansas City Symphony

Symphony No. 17 in C minor Op. 41
by Luigi Boccherini
Michael Erxleben and The New Berlin Chamber Orchestra

Frank Byrne is the host of From the Archives on 91.9 Classical KC.
Sam Wisman is Assistant Producer at 91.9 Classical KC.