Classical For Kansas City
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

From the Archives - Remembering Richard Freed

Themes and Variations

We remember the distinguished music critic and writer Richard Freed, who passed away at 93 on New Year’s Day. Hear recordings that he shared with Frank Byrne over 40 years of friendship.

Compositions and Recordings

The Perfect Fool - Dance of the Spirits of Earth
by Gustav Holst
Sir Adrian Boult with the London Philharmonic

Symphony No. 34 - 1st movement
by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Peter Maag with the Orchestre de la Suisse Romande

Quartet in D Major Op. 65 No. 5 - Finale
by Franz Josef Haydn
Hagen Quartet

Intermezzo from El Baile de Luis Alonso
by Geronimo Gimenez
Pablo Sorozobal with the Madrid Symphony

Comes Autumn Time
by Leo Sowerby
Mstislav Rostropovich with the National Symphony

Vienna Swallows Waltz
by Josef Strauss
Clemens Krauss with the Vienna Philharmonic

Sleeping Beauty Waltz
by Peter Tchaikovsky
Constant Lambert with the Sadler's Wells Ballet Orchestra

Hungarian Rhapsody No. 1
by Franz Liszt
Rudolf Schwartz with the Philharmonia Orchestra

'Appy 'Ampstead
by Albert Ketelbey
Robert Sharples with the New Symphony Orchestra of London

Frank Byrne is the host of From the Archives on 91.9 Classical KC.
Brooke Knoll is the digital audience specialist and afternoon host for Classical KC. You can reach her at