© 2022 Kansas City Public Radio
NPR in Kansas City
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

The many sides of the Aeolus Quartet

Deborah Feingold
Alan Richardson, Caitlin Lynch, Nicholas Tavani and Rachel Shapiro of the Aeolus Quartet

Classical KC previews a Kansas City performance by the forward-thinking Aeolus Quartet. We speak with violinist Rachel Shapiro and violist Caitlin Lynch about the group's expansive exploration of American music, and their open-hearted approach to chamber music.


Brooke Knoll


Rachel Shapiro, violin
Caitlin Lynch, viola


3 Rags
No. 1. Poltergeist
No. 2. Graceful Ghost
by William Bolcom

Ariel Ascending
I. begins with a breath; gliding effortlessly
II. fleeting, delicate
III. exuberant, brilliant
by Christopher Theofanidis

String Quartet, Op. 11
II. Molto adagio
by Samuel Barber

Quartet for Queen Mab - Playful, fast
by Missy Mazzoli

You can learn more about the Aeolus Quartet at aeolusquartet.com and their November 12th performance in Kansas City at 1900bldg.com.

Brooke Knoll is the digital audience specialist and on-air host for Classical KC. You can reach her at brooke@classicalkc.org.
Sam Wisman is a Producer for 91.9 Classical KC. Email him at samwisman@classicalkc.org.