Classical For Kansas City
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00
0:00
Available On Air Stations

Enjoy live broadcasts from the Metropolitan Opera Saturdays at noon

20221207_bk_joycedidonatothehours
Evan Zimmerman
/
The Metropolitan Opera
Joyce DiDonato as Virginia Woolf in 'The Hours.'

Join Classical KC for the 92nd season of Saturday matinee radio broadcasts with host Debra Lew Harder. Listen Saturdays at noon for past and present performances from the Metropolitan Opera stage, starting with Kevin Puts' new opera 'The Hours,' starring Prairie Village, Kansas native Joyce DiDonato.

Schedule

PUTS — The Hours
Saturday, Dec. 10, 2022, noon central
Fleming, O'Hara, DiDonato, Kim
Yannick Nézet-Séguin, conductor

VERDI — Rigoletto
Saturday, Dec. 17, 2022, noon central
Salsi, Oropesa, Costello, Relyea, Akhmetshina
Speranza Scappucci, conductor

Met Debuts On The Air
Saturday, Dec. 31, 2022, noon central
Highlights of artists making their Met Opera debuts during live broadcasts

CHERUBINI — Medea
Saturday, Jan. 7, 2023, noon central
Radvanovsky, Polenzani, Gubanova
Carlo Rizzi, conductor

GIORDANO — Fedora
Saturday, Jan. 14, 2023, noon central
Yoncheva, Beczala, Feola
Marco Armiliato, conductor

DONIZETTI — L'edlisir D'amore
Saturday, Jan. 21, 2023, noon central
Camarena, Schultz, Luciano
Michele Gamba, conductor

POULENC — Dialogues des Carmelites
Saturday, Jan. 28, 2023, noon central
Pérez, Westbroek, Coote, Barton
Bertrand de Billy, conductor

VERDI — Macbeth
Saturday, Feb. 4, 2023, noon central
Milnes, Arroyo, Raimondi
Francesco Molinari-Pradelli, conductor

Celebrating Franco Zeffirelli
Saturday, Feb. 11, 2023, noon central
The Met commemorates the centenary of Franco Zeffirelli’s birth with a special presentation drawn from the company’s radio archives.

VERDI — Don Carlo
Saturday, Feb. 18, 2023, noon central
Thomas, Buratto, Mattei, Matochkina
Carlo Rizzi, conductor

SHOSTAKOVICH — Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk
Saturday, Feb. 25, 2023, noon central
Sozdateleva, Jovanovich, Relyea, Schukoff
Keri-Lynn Wilson, conductor

Listener's Choice: Great Met Broadcasts
Saturday, March 4, 2023, noon central

VERDI — La Traviata
Saturday, March 11, 2023, noon central
Blue, Popov, Ruciński
Nicola Luisotti, conductor

WAGNER — Lohengrin
Saturday, March 18, 2023, noon central
Beczała, Wilson, Goerke, Nikitin
Yannick Nézet-Séguin, conductor

BELLINI — Norma
Saturday, March 25, 2023, noon central
Yoncheva, Gubanova, Spyres, Van Horn
Maurizio Benini, conductor

VERDI — Falstaff
Saturday, April 1, 2023, noon central
Volle, Pérez, Lemieux, Maltman
Daniele Rustioni, conductor

PUCCINI — Tosca
Saturday, April 8, 2023, noon central
Gheorghiu, Eyvazov, Lučić, Carfizzi
Domingo Hindoyan, conductor

STRAUSS — Der Rosenkavalier
Saturday, April 15, 2023, noon central
Leonard, Davidsen, Groissböck, Morley
Simone Young, conductor

MOZART — Idomeneo
Saturday, April 22, 2023, noon central
Spyres, Fang, Lombardi, Lindsey
Manfred Honeck, conductor

BRITTEN — Peter Grimes
Saturday, April 29, 2023, noon central
Clayton, Car, Plachetka
Nicholas Carter, conductor

PUCCINI — La Bohème
Saturday, May 6, 2023, noon central
Burratto, Costello, Mkhitaryan, Luciano
Yannick Nézet-Séguin, conductor

VERDI — Aida
Saturday, May 13, 2023, noon central
Bradley, Álvarez, Petrova, Gagnidze
Paolo Carignani, conductor

MOZART — Don Giovanni
Saturday, May 20, 2023, noon central
Mattei, Lombardi, Plachetka, Martinez
Nathalie Stutzmann, conductor

BLANCHARD — Champion
Saturday, May 27, 2023, noon central
Green, Owens, Moore, Blythe
Yannick Nézet-Séguin, conductor

MOZART — The Magic Flute
Saturday, June 3, 2023, noon central
Brownlee, Morley, Oliemans, Milling
Nathalie Stutzmann, conductor

WAGNER — Der fliegende Holländer
Saturday, June 10, 2023, noon central
Konieczny, Heever, Belosselskiy, Cutler
Thomas Guggeis, conductor

Brooke Knoll is the digital audience specialist and on-air host for Classical KC. You can reach her at brooke@classicalkc.org.
Classical KC serves Kansas City with 24 hours of classical music, day in and day out.
Your donation today keeps classical on the air and online.