Classical For Kansas City
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00
0:00
Available On Air Stations

Live broadcasts from the Metropolitan Opera return Saturdays at noon

People on a stage.
Ken Howard / Met Opera
/
A scene from Act I of Terence Blanchard's "Fire Shut Up in My Bones."

The Metropolitan Opera returns to the stage after a year of virtual performances. Join Classical KC for the 91st season of Saturday matinee radio broadcasts with new host, Debra Lew Harder. Listen Saturdays at noon for past and present performances from the Metropolitan Opera stage.

Schedule

AUCOIN — Eurydice
Saturday, Dec. 4, 2021, noon central
Morley, Hopkins, Orliński, Berg, Banks
Yannick Nézet-Séguin, conductor

PUCCINI — Tosca
Saturday, Dec. 11, 2021, noon central
Radvanovsky, Jagde, Nikitin, Carfizzi
Yannick Nézet-Séguin, conductor

MOZART — The Magic Flute
Saturday, Dec. 18, 2021, noon central
Polenzani, Hyesang Park, Villazón, Robinson, Lewek, Rosel, Carfizzi Jane Glover, conductor

VERDI — Aida at the Met
Saturday, Dec. 25, 2021, noon central
Highlights from great Met Aida broadcasts in celebration of the 90th anniversary of Met broadcasts and the 150th anniversary of Aida

MASSENET — Cinderella
Saturday, Jan. 1, 2022, noon central
Leonard, D’Angelo, Blythe, Naouri, Pratt
Emmanuel Villaume, conductor

BLANCHARD — Fire Shut Up in My Bones
Saturday, Jan. 8, 2022, noon central
Performance from October 23, 2021
Liverman, Blue, Moore
Yannick Nézet-Séguin, conductor

MOZART — Le Nozze Di Figaro
Saturday, Jan. 15, 2022, noon central
McKinny, Crowe, Schultz, Gerhaher, Stéphany, Bishop, Muraro
Yannick Nézet-Séguin, conductor

PUCCINI — La Bohème
Saturday, Jan. 22, 2022, noon central
Agresta, Castronovo, Reyes, Meachem, Kellner, Birch Elliott, Maxwell
Carlo Rizzi, conductor

VERDI — Rigoletto
Saturday, Jan. 29, 2022, noon central
Kelsey, Feola, Beczała, Mastroni, Abrahamyan
Daniele Rustioni, conductor

The Met's First Decade On the Air
Saturday, Feb. 5, 2022, noon central
Highlights from historic Met broadcasts

VERDI — Requiem
Saturday, Feb. 12, 2022, noon central
Performance from September 11, 2021
Pérez, Garanča, Polenzani, Owens
Yannick Nézet-Séguin, conductor

MUSSORGSKY — Boris Godunov
Saturday, Feb. 19, 2022, noon central
Performance from October 9, 2021
Pape, Philip, Anger, Paster, Markov, Trofimov
Sebastian Weigle, conductor

GLUCK — Iphigénie en Tauride
Saturday, Feb. 26, 2022, noon central
Performance from Fall 2021
Lindsey, Dupuis, Bliss, Azizov
Iphigénie en Tauride, conductor

Listeners' Choice: Great Met Broadcasts
Saturday, March 5, 2022, noon central
Opera TBA

R. STRAUSS — Ariadne Auf Naxos
Saturday, March 12, 2022, noon central
Davidsen, Jovanovich, Rae, Plumb, Leonard, Kränzle, Allen
Marek Janowski, conductor

HANDEL — Rodelinda
Saturday, March 19, 2022, 11 a.m. central
van den Heever, Davies, Appleby, Barton, Roth Costanzo, Plachetka
Harry Bicket, conductor

VERDI — Don Carlos
Saturday, March 26, 2022, 11 a.m. central
Polenzani, Yoncheva, Groissböck, Garanča, Dupuis, Relyea
Yannick Nézet-Séguin, conductor

TCHAIKOVSKY — Eugene Onegin
Saturday, April 2, 2022, noon central
Golovatenko, Pérez, Beczała, Abrahamyan, Anger
James Gaffigan, condutor

MOZART — Le Nozze Di Figaro
Saturday, April 9, 2022, noon central
Van Horn, Garifullina, Lombardi, Finley, Cooke, Bishop, Muraro
Yannick Nézet-Séguin, conductor

R. STRAUSS — Elektra
Saturday, April 16, 2022, noon central
Stemme, Davidsen, Schuster, Grimsley, Vinke
Donald Runnicles, conductor

GERSHWIN — Porgy and Bess
Saturday, April 23, 2022, noon central
Performance from Fall 2021
Owens, Blue, Walker, Ballentine, Moore, Brugger, Graves, Speedo Green
David Robertson, conductor

PUCCINI — Madama Butterfly
Saturday, April 30, 2022, noon central
Buratto, Jagde, DeShong, Bizic
Alexander Soddy, conductor

PUCCINI - Turandot
Saturday, May 7, 2022, noon central
Netrebko, Lee, Bradley, Furlanetto
Marco Armiliato, conductor

WAGNER — Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg
Saturday, May 14, 2022, 11 a.m. central
Performance from Fall 2021
Volle, Florian Vogt, Davidsen, Kränzle, Zeppenfeld, Appleby, Mahnke, Gantner, Tsymbalyuk
Antonio Pappano, conductor

DONIZETTI — Lucia Di Lammermoor
Saturday, May 21, 2022, noon central
Sierra, Camarena, Ruciński, Rose
Riccardo Frizza, conductor

GLASS — Akhnaten
Saturday, May 28, 2022, noon central
Roth Costanzo, Chaieb, James, Lárusdóttir, Blake, Bernstein, Liverman
Karen Kamensek, conductor

BRITTEN — Billy Budd
Saturday, June 4, 2022, noon central
Clayton, Rae, Gilfry, Connolly, Burden, Imbrailo, Tomlinson, Philip, Nussbaum Cohen, Lowrey
Nicholas Carter, conductor

STRAVINSKY — The Rake’s Progress
Saturday, June 11, 2022, noon central
Bliss, Schultz, Van Horn, Coote, Creswell
Susanna Mälkki, conductor

Brooke Knoll is the digital audience specialist and on-air host for Classical KC. You can reach her at brooke@classicalkc.org.
Classical KC serves Kansas City with 24 hours of classical music, day in and day out.
Your donation today keeps classical on the air and online.