Classical For Kansas City
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

A Travelogue - Spain, France And Finland

Marco Borggreve / Benjamin Ealovega
Pianist Alessio Bax and guest conductor Carlos Miguel Prieto

Michael Stern and Dan Margolies lead you on a musical journey to Spain, France and Finland with music from Debussy, De Falla, Salonen, and Sibelius. Conductor Carlos Miguel Prieto and pianist Alessio Bax join the orchestra for a nighttime exploration of the Gardens of Spain.


Michael Stern, conductor
Dan Margolies


by Claude Debussy
Live performance, April 2016

Nights In the Garden of Spain
by Manuel De Falla
Carlos Miguel Prieto, guest conductor
Alessio Bax, piano
Live performance, November 2015

L.A. Variations
by Esa-Pekka Salonen
Live performance, January 2018

Symphony No. 3
by Jean Sibelius
Live performance, November 2018

Dan Margolies is senior reporter and editor at KCUR. He can be reached by email at or on Twitter @DanMargolies.
Sam Wisman is Assistant Producer at 91.9 Classical KC.