Classical For Kansas City
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

A New World And A New Era

Suzanne Frisse
Joe LeFevre in Helzberg Hall

Principal tuba Joe LeFevre joins hosts Michael Stern and Dan Margolies for a program of Gershwin, Rachmaninoff, Kernis and Dvořák. Joe describes the excitement of his debut with the orchestra and how much he enjoys playing Dvořák's "New World Symphony," even though he only plays a total of fourteen notes.

An agreement with the Kansas City Symphony allows us to share audio for this program up to four weeks after the program's original air date. You can listen to currently available episodes here.


Michael Stern, conductor
Dan Margolies


Cuban Overture
by George Gershwin
Live performance, February 2019

Symphonic Dances
by Sergei Rachmaninoff
Live performance, September 2018

New Era Dance
by Aaron Jay Kernis
Live performance, September 2018

Symphony No. 9 in E minor, "From the New World", Op. 95
by Antonín Dvořák
Live performance, February 2019

You can learn more about Joe and The Kansas City Symphony at

Stay Connected
As a reporter covering breaking news and legal affairs, I want to demystify often-complex legal issues in order to expose the visible and invisible ways they affect people’s lives. I cover issues of justice and equity, and seek to ensure that significant and often under-covered developments get the attention they deserve so that KCUR listeners and readers are equipped with the knowledge they need to act as better informed citizens. Email me at
Sam Wisman is a Producer for 91.9 Classical KC. Email him at
Related Content