Classical For Kansas City
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Music For The Living

Eric T. Williams
Violinist Augustin Hadelich performs with the Kansas City Symphony.

Michael Stern returns as co-host for a program featuring music for our time, a classic concerto and a requiem for the living. We'll hear anthemic music by Jessie Montgomery and a concerto by Max Bruch with violinist Augustin Hadelich. Also, find out why Brahms' "A German Requiem" is a "desert island" piece for Michael Stern.

An agreement with the Kansas City Symphony allows us to share audio for this program up to four weeks after the program's original air date. You can listen to currently available episodes here.


Michael Stern
Dan Margolies


by Jessie Montgomery
Virtual performance, November 2020

Concerto No. 1 in G Minor for Violin and Orchestra
by Max Bruch
Augustin Hadelich, violin
Live performance, June 2015

A German Requiem Op. 45
by Johannes Brahms
Robert Spano, guest conductor
The Kansas City Symphony Chorus, prepared by Charles Bruffy
Live performance, April 2017

The Kansas City Symphony
Michael Stern in conversation with composer Jessie Montgomery.

Stay Connected
As a reporter covering breaking news and legal affairs, I want to demystify often-complex legal issues in order to expose the visible and invisible ways they affect people’s lives. I cover issues of justice and equity, and seek to ensure that significant and often under-covered developments get the attention they deserve so that KCUR listeners and readers are equipped with the knowledge they need to act as better informed citizens. Email me at
Sam Wisman is a Producer for 91.9 Classical KC. Email him at