Classical For Kansas City
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Spring Serenades And An Elegy

Composers Michael Abels and Carlos Simon
Eric Schwabelt / Terrance Ragland
Composers Michael Abels and Carlos Simon

This week we feature more music from the Kansas City Symphony's return to Helzberg Hall after a year away. We'll hear emotional and cathartic performances of music by Carlos Simon, Michael Abels, Samuel Barber and more. We'll also hear the original chamber version of Aaron Copland's "Appalachian Spring."


Michael Stern
Dan Margolies


Divertimento in D Major, K. 136
by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Serenade for Strings, Op. 1
by Samuel Barber

Delights and Dances
by Michael Abels

An Elegy: A Cry From the Grave
by Carlos Simon

Appalachian Spring
by Aaron Copland

Serenade for Strings in C major, Op. 48
by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

Stay Connected
Dan Margolies has been a reporter for the Kansas City Business Journal, The Kansas City Star, and KCUR Public Radio. He retired as a reporter in December 2022 after a 37-year journalism career.
Sam Wisman is a Senior Producer for 91.9 Classical KC and a backup announcer for KCUR 89.3. Email him at