Classical For Kansas City
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Six Dances And Expanded Sounds

Composer Ulysses Kay - Tuscon Citizen
Composer Ulysses Kay - Tuscon Citizen

This week we feature the Kansas City Symphony's return to Helzberg Hall after a year away. We'll hear performances of music by Ulysses Kay, Shostakovich, Beethoven and Tchaikovsky. We'll also find out what it's like for the Maestro and the musicians to perform in front of cameras instead of an audience.

An agreement with the Kansas City Symphony allows us to share audio for this program up to four weeks after the program's original air date. You can listen to currently available episodes here.


Michael Stern, conductor
Dan Margolies


Six Dances for String Orchestra
by Ulysses Kay

Chamber Symphony for Strings in C Minor, Op. 110a
by Dmitri Shostakovich

Grosse Fuge Op. 133
by Ludwig van Beethoven

Souvenir de Florence in D Major, op. 70
by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

Stay Connected
Dan Margolies has been a reporter for the Kansas City Business Journal, The Kansas City Star, and KCUR Public Radio. He retired as a reporter in December 2022 after a 37-year journalism career.
Sam Wisman is a Senior Producer for 91.9 Classical KC and a backup announcer for KCUR 89.3. Email him at