Classical For Kansas City
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Joy And Pain With Rouse, Tchaikovsky And Strauss

Untitled design-4.png
Edwin Evans/Jeffery Herman
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, Richard Strauss and Christopher Rouse

This week we feature three performances by The Kansas City Symphony revealing the rich emotional depth of these pieces. We'll also hear what Michael Stern learned from an early mentor of his, Christoph von Dohnányi, a guest conductor on this week's program.

An agreement with the Kansas City Symphony allows us to share audio for this program up to four weeks after the program's original air date. You can listen to currently available episodes here.


Michael Stern
Dan Margolies


Symphony No. 6 in B minor, Op. 74
by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
Live performance, March 2012
Christoph von Dohnanyi, guest conductor

Odna Zhizn
by Christopher Rouse
Live performance, September 2017

Ein Heldenleben Op. 40
by Richard Strauss
Live performance, June 2015

Stay Connected
As a reporter covering breaking news and legal affairs, I want to demystify often-complex legal issues in order to expose the visible and invisible ways they affect people’s lives. I cover issues of justice and equity, and seek to ensure that significant and often under-covered developments get the attention they deserve so that KCUR listeners and readers are equipped with the knowledge they need to act as better informed citizens. Email me at
Sam Wisman is a Producer for 91.9 Classical KC. Email him at