Classical For Kansas City
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

From Tchaikovsky to Shostakovich to Trifonov: Russian music across three different centuries

Eric T. Williams
Pianist and composer Daniil Trifonov takes a bow after performing his Concerto for Piano and Orchestra in E-flat minor with Michael Stern and the Kansas City Symphony.

Michael Stern and Dan Margolies will explore music by three Russian composers in live performances by the Kansas City Symphony. We'll hear Tchaikovsky's Symphony No. 5, Shostakovich's Symphony No. 2 and Daniil Trifonov's Concerto for Piano and Orchestra in E-flat minor with the composer as soloist.

An agreement with the Kansas City Symphony allows us to share audio for this program up to four weeks after the program's original air date. You can listen to currently available episodes here.


Michael Stern
Dan Margolies


Symphony No. 2 in B major, Op. 14
by Dimitri Shostakovich
Live performance, June 2016

Concerto for Piano and Orchestra in E-flat minor
by Daniil Trifonov
Daniil Trifonov, piano
Live performance, November 2016

Symphony No. 5 in E minor, Op. 64
by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
Live performance, September 2014

Stay Connected
As a reporter covering breaking news and legal affairs, I want to demystify often-complex legal issues in order to expose the visible and invisible ways they affect people’s lives. I cover issues of justice and equity, and seek to ensure that significant and often under-covered developments get the attention they deserve so that KCUR listeners and readers are equipped with the knowledge they need to act as better informed citizens. Email me at
Sam Wisman is a Producer for 91.9 Classical KC. Email him at