Classical For Kansas City
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

From the Archives - Bach suites

Johann Sebastian Bach wrote the <em>St. Matthew Passion</em> in 1727 for solo voices, double choir and double orchestra.
Getty Digital
Johann Sebastian Bach.

Composer Max Reger wrote that Bach’s music is “powerful and inexhaustible medicine.” This week we have JS Bach suites for orchestra, solo cello, and solo piano. They are masterfully performed and are indeed a tonic for our hectic lives.

Compositions and Recordings

Orchestral Suite No. 3
by Johann Sebastian Bach
Trevor Pinnock and the English Concert

Suite No. 2 for solo cello
by Johann Sebastian Bach
Mstislav Rostropovich

English Suite No. 2 in A minor
by Johann Sebastian Bach
Jorg Demus

Frank Byrne is the host of From the Archives on 91.9 Classical KC.
Brooke Knoll is the digital audience specialist and afternoon host for Classical KC. You can reach her at