Classical For Kansas City
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

From the Archives - Dvořák small and large

Composer Antonín Dvořák
Composer Antonín Dvořák

We know Antonín Dvořák’s music mostly from his wonderful symphonies and large orchestral works. This week we’ll hear one of his most ambitious chamber works, his Piano Quintet in A major. We’ll also have one of those wonderful, thrilling big orchestral works for which he’s deservedly known.

Compositions and Recordings

Piano Quintet in A Major Op. 81
by Antonín Dvořák
Richter and Borodin Quartet

Scherzo Capriccioso Op. 66
by Antonín Dvořák
Istvan Kertesz and the London Symphony Orchestra

Frank Byrne is the host of From the Archives on 91.9 Classical KC.
Brooke Knoll is the digital audience specialist and afternoon host for Classical KC. You can reach her at