Classical For Kansas City
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Symphony music librarian Elena Lence Talley: the right music in the right place at the right time

Elena Lence Talley
The Kansas City Symphony
Elena Lence Talley

Special guest Elena Lence Talley, Principal Music Librarian with the Kansas City Symphony, offers her unique perspective on some of her favorite works and also shares what elements of her job keep her up at night. We'll hear performances of Brahms, Stravinsky and Mozart featuring piano soloist Emanuel Ax.

An agreement with the Kansas City Symphony allows us to share audio for this program for a limited time. You can listen to currently available episodes here.


Michael Stern, conductor
Dan Margolies


Elena Lence Talley, Principal Music Librarian


Symphony No. 4
by Johannes Brahms
Live performance, October 2012

Piano Concerto No. 19, K. 459
by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Emanuel Ax, piano
Live performance, April 2016

by Igor Stravinsky
Live performance, January 2016

Learn more about Elena at

The Kansas City Symphony performs Petrouchka, Mozart's Clarinet Concerto and Joan Tower's Tambor April 1-3 with guest conductor Christian Reif. You can learn more at

Stay Connected
Dan Margolies has been a reporter for the Kansas City Business Journal, The Kansas City Star, and KCUR Public Radio. He retired as a reporter in December 2022 after a 37-year journalism career.
Sam Wisman is a Senior Producer for 91.9 Classical KC and a backup announcer for KCUR 89.3. Email him at