Classical For Kansas City
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Great composers and their next moves — part 1

Todd Rosenberg
Todd Rosenberg Photography
Pianist Yefim Bronfman performs Brahms' Second Piano Concerto with Michael Stern and the Kansas City Symphony in Helzberg Hall, January 2015.

This week we'll hear the Kansas City Symphony perform a trio of twos: Beethoven's Second Symphony, Brahms' Second Piano Concerto and Ravel's Suite No. 2 from Daphnis and Chloé.

An agreement with the Kansas City Symphony allows us to share audio for this program up to four weeks after the program's original air date. You can listen to currently available episodes here.


Michael Stern
Dan Margolies


Symphony No. 2 in D Major, Op. 36
by Ludwig van Beethoven
Pinchas Zukerman, guest conductor
Live performance, May 2015

Suite No. 2 from Daphnis et Cholé
by Maurice Ravel
Live performance, June 2015

Concerto No. 2 in B-flat Major for Piano and Orchestra, Op. 83
by Johannes Brahms
Yefim Bronfman - piano
Live performance, January 2015

Stay Connected
As a reporter covering breaking news and legal affairs, I want to demystify often-complex legal issues in order to expose the visible and invisible ways they affect people’s lives. I cover issues of justice and equity, and seek to ensure that significant and often under-covered developments get the attention they deserve so that KCUR listeners and readers are equipped with the knowledge they need to act as better informed citizens. Email me at
Sam Wisman is a Producer for 91.9 Classical KC. Email him at