Classical For Kansas City
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

The begrudging respect between Tchaikovsky and Brahms

Eric T. Williams Copyright - A
Pianist Vadym Kholodenko takes a bow after a June 2015 performance of Tchaikovsky's Concerto No. 1 with Michael Stern and the Kansas City Symphony in Helzberg Hall.

Celebrate the birthdays and music of Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky and Johannes Brahms as co-hosts Michael Stern and Dan Margolies explore the fascinating, if transient, relationship between these two musical giants. We'll hear Tchaikovsky's Cappricio italien and Concerto No.1 for Piano and Orchestra, plus Arnold Schoenberg's orchestration of Brahms' Piano Quartet No. 1 in G Minor.

An agreement with the Kansas City Symphony allows us to share audio for this program up to four weeks after the program's original air date. You can listen to currently available episodes here.


Michael Stern
Dan Margolies


Capriccio italien, Op. 45
by Peter Tchaikovsky
Carlos Kalmar, guest conductor
Live performance, March 2015

Piano Quartet No. 1 in G Minor, Op. 25
by Johannes Brahms, orch. by Arnold Schoenberg
Asher Fisch, guest conductor
Live performance, May 2013

Concerto No. 1 in B-flat Minor for Piano and Orchestra, Op. 23
by Peter Tchaikovsky
Vadym Kholodenko, piano
Live performance, June 2015

Stay Connected
Dan Margolies has been a reporter for the Kansas City Business Journal, The Kansas City Star, and KCUR Public Radio. He retired as a reporter in December 2022 after a 37-year journalism career.
Sam Wisman is a Senior Producer for 91.9 Classical KC and a backup announcer for KCUR 89.3. Email him at