Classical For Kansas City
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Angst and exuberance: The early work of Tchaikovsky and Brahms

Johannes Brahms (1853) and Peter Tchaikovsky (1874)
Public Domain
Encyclopedia Britannica
Johannes Brahms (1853) and Peter Tchaikovsky (1874)

Our birthday celebration of Peter Tchaikovsky and Johannes Brahms continues by featuring three early works from these master composers. We'll hear Tchaikovsky's 'Romeo and Juliet' Overture-Fantasy and Symphony No. 2, plus the Serenade No. 1 from Brahms. Co-hosts Michael Stern and Dan Margolies explore how the two great composers' youthful emotions are depicted in their work.

An agreement with the Kansas City Symphony allows us to share audio for this program up to four weeks after the program's original air date. You can listen to currently available episodes here.


Michael Stern
Dan Margolies


'Romeo and Juliet' Overture-Fantasy
by Peter Tchaikovsky
Live performance, October 2013

Symphony No. 2 in C minor, Op. 17
by Peter Tchaikovsky
Live performance, February 2013

Serenade No. 1 in D major, Op. 11
by Johannes Brahms
Live performance, November 2015

Stay Connected
Dan Margolies has been a reporter for the Kansas City Business Journal, The Kansas City Star, and KCUR Public Radio. He retired as a reporter in December 2022 after a 37-year journalism career.
Sam Wisman is a Senior Producer for 91.9 Classical KC and a backup announcer for KCUR 89.3. Email him at