Classical For Kansas City
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Death, rebirth and transcendence: Mahler's 'Resurrection' Symphony

KCS 220414.png
A. Dupont, N.Y. / Serge Lachinov
Public Domain
Gustav Maher (1909) and Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov (1897)

Join co-hosts Michael Stern and Dan Margolies as they explore Gustav Mahler's monumental Symphony No. 2 in C minor, known as the "Resurrection." We'll also hear the trumpet blasts and celebratory bells of Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov's Russian Easter Overture led by guest conductor Carlos Miguel Prieto.

An agreement with the Kansas City Symphony allows us to share audio for this program up to four weeks after the program's original air date. You can listen to currently available episodes here.


Michael Stern
Dan Margolies


Russian Easter Overture, Op. 36
by Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov
Carlos Miguel Prieto, guest conductor
Live performance, November 2011

Symphony No. 2 in C Minor — “Resurrection”
by Gustav Mahler
Kelley O’Connor — mezzo soprano
Jessica Rivera — soprano
Kansas City Symphony Chorus — Charles Bruffy, director
Live performance, February 2012

Stay Connected
As a reporter covering breaking news and legal affairs, I want to demystify often-complex legal issues in order to expose the visible and invisible ways they affect people’s lives. I cover issues of justice and equity, and seek to ensure that significant and often under-covered developments get the attention they deserve so that KCUR listeners and readers are equipped with the knowledge they need to act as better informed citizens. Email me at
Sam Wisman is a Producer for 91.9 Classical KC. Email him at