Classical For Kansas City
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

A June celebration — Part 1

Pinchas Zukerman performs Edward Elgar's Concerto in B minor for Violin and Orchestrawith Michael Stern and the Kansas City Symphony, June 2013.

Join co-hosts Michael Stern and Dan Margolies as they celebrate the birthdays of Edward Elgar and Richard Strauss. We'll hear Elgar's Concerto in B Minor for Violin and Orchestra featuring Pinchas Zukerman and Strauss' An Alpine Symphony.

An agreement with the Kansas City Symphony allows us to share audio for this program up to four weeks after the program's original air date. You can listen to currently available episodes here.


Michael Stern
Dan Margolies


Concerto in B Minor for Violin and Orchestra, Op. 61
by Edward Elgar
Pinchas Zukerman, violin
Live performance, January 2013

Eine Alpensinfonie (An Alpine Symphony), Op. 64
by Richard Strauss
Live performance, June 2013

Stay Connected
Dan Margolies has been a reporter for the Kansas City Business Journal, The Kansas City Star, and KCUR Public Radio. He retired as a reporter in December 2022 after a 37-year journalism career.
Sam Wisman is a Senior Producer for 91.9 Classical KC and a backup announcer for KCUR 89.3. Email him at