Classical For Kansas City
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

A symphonic poem by Florence Price and Benjamin Britten's monumental War Requiem

Michael Stern and members of the Kansas City Symphony, symphony chorus and soloists receive an ovation from the audience in Helzberg Hall following May 2017 performance of Benjamin Britten's "War Requiem."
Eric T. Williams
Michael Stern and the Kansas City Symphony, the Kansas City Symphony Chorus and soloists acknowledge the audience's ovation following their May 2017 performance in Helzberg Hall of Benjamin Britten's War Requiem.

Listen to performances of "The Oak," a piece by Florence Price that was only recently discovered, and Benjamin Britten's War Requiem, one of the 20th century's towering choral masterpieces.

An agreement with the Kansas City Symphony allows us to share audio for this program up to four weeks after the program's original air date. You can listen to currently available episodes here.


Michael Stern
Dan Margolies


The Oak
by Florence Price
Peter Oundjian, guest conductor
Live performance, November 2021

War Requiem
by Benjamin Britten
Christine Brewer, soprano
Anthony Dean Griffey, tenor
Stephen Powell, baritone
Kansas City Symphony Chorus — Charles Bruffy, director
Allegro KC Children's Chorus — Christy Elsner, director
Live performance, May 2017

Stay Connected
Dan Margolies has been a reporter for the Kansas City Business Journal, The Kansas City Star, and KCUR Public Radio. He retired as a reporter in December 2022 after a 37-year journalism career.
Sam Wisman is a Senior Producer for 91.9 Classical KC and a backup announcer for KCUR 89.3. Email him at