Classical For Kansas City
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

'The result of my pondering:' Bernstein's 'Psalms,' 'Meditations' and more

Cellist Yo-Yo Ma performs with Michael Stern and the Kansas City Symphony
Eric T. Williams
Cellist Yo-Yo Ma performs with Michael Stern and the Kansas City Symphony

This week, Michael Stern and Dan Margolies continue to celebrate the life and work of Leonard Bernstein. We'll hear his Suite from "On the Waterfront," "Three Meditations from Mass" and "Chichester Psalms." We'll also hear Alexander Glazunov's Violin Concerto in A minor and the rollicking "Academic Festival Overture" by Johannes Brahms.

An agreement with the Kansas City Symphony allows us to share audio for this program up to four weeks after the program's original air date. You can listen to currently available episodes here.


Michael Stern
Dan Margolies


Academic Festival Overture, Op. 80
by Johannes Brahms
Live performance, January 2012

Concerto in A minor for Violin and Orchestra, Op. 82
by Alexander Glazunov
Carlos Miguel Prieto - guest conductor
Tianwa Yang - violin
Live performance, November 2011

Symphonic Suite from On the Waterfront
by Leonard Bernstein
Live performance, February 2014

Three Meditations from Mass
by Leonard Bernstein
Yo-Yo Ma - cello
Live performance, March 2018

Chichester Psalms for Chorus and Orchestra
by Leonard Bernstein
Kansas City Symphony Chorus - Charle Bruffy, director
Joe Rogers - boy treble soloist
Live performance, April 2018

Stay Connected
Dan Margolies has been a reporter for the Kansas City Business Journal, The Kansas City Star, and KCUR Public Radio. He retired as a reporter in December 2022 after a 37-year journalism career.
Sam Wisman is a Senior Producer for 91.9 Classical KC and a backup announcer for KCUR 89.3. Email him at