© 2024 Kansas City Public Radio
NPR in Kansas City
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

KCUR Wins Radio Station of the Year

Kansas City, MO – KCUR-FM won Radio Station of the Year, and top honors in two categories, including talk show and feature reporting, when the Heart of America journalism awards were handed out Saturday, June 9, 2007.

The contest was sponsored by the Kansas City Press Club and honored writers and photographers at large and small papers and radio and television stations across the Midwest.

Radio News Program
Second Place: Sylvia Maria Gross, KCUR-FM, "KC Currents."

Radio Talk Show
First Place: Steve Kraske, Stephen Steigman, Tamar Breslauer, KCUR-FM, for "Up To Date." Judges said: "Creative, good reporting style, refreshing approach, engaging personality. Most pertinently, the variety of samples demonstrates how wide-ranging the producers intend to go. (We want some recipes for Chinese - American cuisine that we can try to replicate. Our tongues are hanging out.)

Third Place: Walt Bodine, KCUR-FM, on "The Walt Bodine Show." Judges said: "Despite having the luxury of two, female co-hosts, Walt's show comes through as bland, not boring."

Radio Feature
First Place: Kelley Weiss, KCUR-FM, "Hospital Bridges Gap Between Muslim Patients and Doctors."
Second Place: Laura Ziegler, KCUR-FM,"Buck O'Neil Obituary."
Third Place: Sylvia Maria Gross, KCUR-FM, Last Call for Alcohol at Mutual Musician's Club."

KCUR-FM also won Radio Station of the Year by accumulating the most points from winning awards in individual categories.

To see the all the awards, including print and TV, visit this site.

KCUR serves the Kansas City region with breaking news and award-winning podcasts.
Your donation helps keep nonprofit journalism free and available for everyone.