© 2024 Kansas City Public Radio
NPR in Kansas City
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

For Second Year In A Row, KCUR 89.3 Takes Home National Murrow Award

KCUR 89.3 won a National Murrow Award Tuesday for excellence in journalism. The Edward R. Murrow Awards are among the most prestigious in broadcast and digital news.

KCUR's Frank Morris won the award for Excellence in Writing for his story about the life and legacy of Robert Craig Knievel, also known as Evel Knievel.

"We are so thrilled for Frank, he had a blast with this story and he conveyed that beautifully," said Donna Vestal, KCUR's director of content strategy. "We were honored with a National Murrrow last year for sound and this year for writing, which says a lot about our commitment to the craft."

KCUR reporter and editor Dan Margolies also contributed to a National Murrow Award for Continuing Coverage awarded to our partner station KBIA in Columbia, Missouri. 

The Radio Television Digital News Association has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971. 

Award-winning journalism from KCUR 89.3 is only possible through the support of our listeners and readers. Donate here.

KCUR serves the Kansas City region with breaking news and award-winning podcasts.
Your donation helps keep nonprofit journalism free and available for everyone.