© 2024 Kansas City Public Radio
NPR in Kansas City
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

KCUR Takes Home Three Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards In 2020

Radio Television Digital News Association

The station's coverage of midwest flooding, loneliness and the new KCI terminal brought in the awards — and now advance to the National Murrow Award competition.

KCUR has been awarded three Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards this year for stories covering a breadth of issues in Kansas City and the Midwest region.

The prestigious awards come from the Radio Television Digital News Association, which honors achievements in journalism in the spirit of renowned broadcaster Edward R. Murrow.

KCUR director of journalism Traci Bauer says the awards are a sign of KCUR's commitment to quality, fact-based journalism.

"We submitted some of the work that we’re most proud of, and it’s always rewarding when we’re recognized among the very best in the industry," Bauer says. "The honor represents a level of excellence that we’re continuously striving to achieve."

KCUR reporter Aviva Okeson-Haberman also won two Regional Murrow Awards in Small Market Radio for her work as a University of Missouri student working at KBIA in Columbia, Missouri.

Here is a list of all the awards, which now advance to the National Murrow Award competition for consideration:



Cody Newill is part of KCUR's audience development team. Follow him on Twitter @CodyNewill or email him at cody@kcur.org.
KCUR serves the Kansas City region with breaking news and award-winning podcasts.
Your donation helps keep nonprofit journalism free and available for everyone.