© 2023 Kansas City Public Radio
NPR in Kansas City
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Governor Colyer Denies Pardons For 21 Kansas Prisoners

Kansas Gov. Jeff Colyer on Tuesday denied pardon requests for 21 of the state's inmates.

Colyer made the announcement at a press conference in Wichita. Typically when a governor holds a press conference about pardons, it’s to announce he or she is granting one; Colyer announced only denials, focusing specifically on the clemency petition of Everett Gentry.

Gentry is serving 25 years to life for his role in the 2006 murder of 14-year-old Chelsea Brooks. The Wichita teen was nine months pregnant at the time. 

The case led Kansas lawmakers, including Colyer, to pass Alexa’s Law, which allows prosecutors to add additional charges in cases where someone harms or kills an unborn child. 

Colyer said he thoughtfully considered each of the 21 petitions, but that the decision in this case was easy.

“This is such a heinous crime, and what had happened to this family, and having to relive this, it should not have come forward,” he said.

Chelsea Brooks’ mother, Terry Brooks, told the governor that she is grateful for his decision and wants no mercy for her daughter’s killers.

“We’re going to work every day that we have to make sure that they spend the rest of their natural lives behind prison bars,” she said.

Colyer said if there’s ever a petitioner who can show a clear injustice, he would grant a pardon, but he stressed that he takes that power very seriously.

"It should never be done for political purposes," he said. "It should never be done for political favors."

Brooks’ family and friends were the only invited guests at the event.

Only nine pardons have been granted by Kansas governors in the past 25 years.

Other prisoners whose pardon requests were denied Tuesday were:

  • Ryan Bader (Johnson County)
  • Brandy Brown (Barber County)
  • John Calvin (Wyandotte County)
  • Jessica Chambers (Sedgwick County)
  • Zachary Coon (Sedgwick County)
  • Wallace Dixon (Lyon County)
  • Dana Flynn (Geary County)
  • Sherman Galloway (Douglas County)
  • Charles Hollingsworth (Shawnee County)
  • Ashley Hopper (Lyon County)
  • Milo Jones (Sedgwick County)
  • Aaron Myers (Bourbon County)
  • Dennis Parker (Geary County)
  • Richard Primm (Wyandotte County)
  • Jaquan Rasberry (Riley County)
  • Andrew Storer (Sedgwick County)
  • Austin Tabor (Shawnee County)
  • Andre Tamplin (Johnson County)
  • Kamrie Whitaker (Stevens County)
  • Tarlene Williams (Wyandotte County)

Brian Grimmett reports on the environment and energy for KMUW in Wichita and the Kansas News Service, a collaboration of KMUW, Kansas Public Radio, KCUR and High Plains Public Radio covering health, education and politics. Follow him on Twitter @briangrimmett. Kansas News Service stories and photos may be republished at no cost with proper attribution and a link back to the original post.

Copyright 2020 KMUW | NPR for Wichita. To see more, visit .

I seek to find and tell interesting stories about how our environment shapes and impacts us. Climate change is a growing threat to all Kansans, both urban and rural, and I want to inform people about what they can expect, how it will change their daily lives and the ways in which people, corporations and governments are working to adapt. I also seek to hold utility companies accountable for their policy and ratemaking decisions. Email me at grimmett@kmuw.org.
KCUR serves the Kansas City region with breaking news and powerful storytelling.
Your donation helps make nonprofit journalism available for everyone.