© 2022 Kansas City Public Radio
NPR in Kansas City
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Central Standard

Understanding, Not Acceptance

The five stages of grief are denial, anger, bargaining, depression and acceptance. When loved ones are lost to violent crime, some say the more appropriate final stage is not acceptance, but understanding. With a rise in Kansas City's homicide rate, experts and citizens discuss the psychological fallout of living with the reality of violent crime.


  • Donald Lang, grief counselor, Ad Hoc Group Against Crime
  • David May, sociology professor, Mississippi State University, author, Fear of Crime: Causes, Consequences and Contradictions
  • Katie Greer, resident of the Northeast Neighborhood
  • Troy Robertson, man with a sign that reads "My Life Matters"


Central Standard crimepsychology
People don't make cameos in news stories; the human story is the story, with characters affected by news events, not defined by them. As a columnist and podcaster, I want to acknowledge what it feels like to live through this time in Kansas City, one vantage point at a time. Together, these weekly vignettes form a collage of daily life in Kansas City as it changes in some ways, and stubbornly resists change in others. You can follow me on Twitter @GinaKCUR or email me at gina@kcur.org.
Matthew Long-Middleton has been a talk-show producer, community producer, Media Training Manager and now the Community Engagement Manager at KCUR. You can reach him at Matthew@kcur.org, or on Twitter @MLMIndustries.