© 2024 Kansas City Public Radio
NPR in Kansas City
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

KCUR 89.3 Wins 'Radio Station Of The Year' From Kansas City Press Club — And 5 PRNDI Awards

Andrea Tudhope
KCUR 89.3
KCUR was named radio station of the year and took home nine Gold Awards from the Kansas City Press Club's Heart of America Awards.

KCUR was named "Radio Station of the Year" by the Kansas City Press Club's Heart of America Awards and took home nine Gold Awards for breaking news, investigative reporting and more. The station also received two first place awards from Public Radio News Directors Incorporated, or PRNDI. 

The Kansas City Press Club honors journalists from western Missouri and eastern Kansas each year. KCUR received nine Gold Awards, nine Silver Awards, three Bronze Awards and several honorable mentions. 

KCUR Director of Content Strategy Donna Vestal says the honors reflect the core values of KCUR's journalistic mission.

"The KCUR news and talk show staffs are committed to the highest journalism standards, and we keep pushing the boundaries of what we can do — thanks to the support of the community," Vestal says. "We’re pleased to see our work so widely recognized."

At the 2018 PRNDI Awards, KCUR's Frank Morris received first place honors for Nationally Edited Series and Nationally Edited Soft Feature. KCUR's Andrea Tudhope, Kansas News Service's Jim McLean and contributor Victor Wishna also received second place awards for Arts Feature, Spot News and Commentary, respectively.

Below is the full list of awards by the Kansas City Press Club. You can find the full list of PRNDI winners here.

Kansas City Press Club Gold Awards:

Silver Awards:

Bronze Awards:

Honorable Mention:

Cody Newill is part of KCUR's audience development team. Follow him on Twitter @CodyNewill or email him at cody@kcur.org.
KCUR serves the Kansas City region with breaking news and award-winning podcasts.
Your donation helps keep nonprofit journalism free and available for everyone.