NPR in Kansas City
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Kansas City Police Commissioners Remain Steadfast In Their Support Of Chief Smith & State Control

Ways To Subscribe
Kansas City Police Department
The Board of Police Commissioners is made up of five members — four appointed by the Missouri governor, and the mayor of Kansas City. Board President Don Wagner, left, and Nathan Garret both voiced support for police Chief Rick Smith.

In the face of numerous calls for the resignation of police Chief Rick Smith, two members of the Kansas City Board of Police Commissioners defend the department veteran as "a good leader."

When it comes to the Kansas City Police Department and its chief, two commissioners of the department's governing body say neither should be judged solely on the past seven weeks of protest.

Steve Kraske is the host of KCUR's Up To Date. Follow him on Twitter @stevekraske.
Danie Alexander is the senior producer of Up To Date.